Great Day at the Track

Posted: March 8, 2010 in BMX Pros, BMX racing, LoneStar BMX
Tags: , , ,

Had a great day at the track on Saturday.  A-Pro Tim Knipe from Austin came down to do a clinic with new A-Pro Chris Williams and Me.  Tim and Chris took off and put on a great clinic.  I thought I was going to be stuck running the gate, till Mr. Brodie came up and asked if he could help with running the gate.  It gave me a chance to go over and help the 7 kids that were there.  Short notice of the clinic didn’t bring out the kids in droves, but it did get them almost a one on one clinic.

Tim, my son and I took a break and ran to grab lunch and some supplies for the track.  Once back at the track Tim worked with Brody for an hour or so.  Really taking personal training to heart.  Tim worked with him on corning and both had a blast running through the rythm section.  Watching Tim work with Brody I have to say, if you or your kid needs help with a skill on the track Tim is the guy to go to.

Tim Knipe showing off his Box jump prowless at the gym

Tim Kinpe showing off his Box jump prowless at the gym

After Brody’s time was up, CopperTop took a turn.  She came down from Austin and worked with Tim for an hour.  He gave her the same attention as he had Brody and the kids in the clinic earlier.  Again, if your looking to improve your racing talk with Tim.

Durring the clinics I worked on the track.  Tried to pack the 2nd turn towards the top, but one run with the Jeep showed the dirt wasn’t having any of that.  So rakes and shovels were needed to get it back to where it was before.  A little fence repair on the last straight side of the track, some sweeping and watering and chaulking a line around the track completed the track mantaince.

Gate practice was on fire.  Chris Williams A-Pro, HoJo Johnson 19-27X, Tim Knipe A-Pro about to turn Elite, Randy Young Vet Pro and myself Vet Pro were all hitting getting some great gates and going 4 wide into the first turn, jumping the big double heading into it.  Clarence White came down from Fort Hood and was gating up with us.  For a couple of 40+ guys Randy and Clarence have some strong gates. 

This was the first time since Florida I’d riden my bike without my shoulder really bother me.  I’d tried taking Advil to get my shoulder to calm down, but it wasn’t stopping anything.  Thoughout the week it had been getting better.  Then Saturday I tried Mineral Ice.  My wife had bought it a few months ago when she hurt her foot at Walgreens.  I thought I’d give it a shot and it worked.  I rode all night pain free.

Races started a little late due to Cory having to hand write the open motos.  We made a 13 and under and 14 and over opens to help the racers get some expierance with full gates.  The 13 and under had 12 or 13 kids sign up.  I think this will be a more regular race as it seemed like the racers really enjoyed it.  Even had a dad call on Sunday morning to thank us for running it.

Only one scarry moment during the races when my buddy James Ling and the 40+ cruiser riders dove into the first turn.  I see a couple of them go down and a wheel go flying over the turn.  Just a wheel.  Thinking the worst I run over to help to find James getting up a little shakin, but getting up on his own.  His fork legs snapped as he was going over the big double causing an over the bars moment only to have the guys next to him hit him.  His only injury?  Pride and maybe a sore body Sunday morning.  His Fly helmet really did it’s job.  It took the impact, braking the face guard, but disapatting the impact like a car’s crumple zone.  Had it not done this, I think he’d have been much worse off.

Somewhere in there during all this was a birthday party for Valen Tupper with a clown and blow-up bounce castle.  It was a Great day at the BMX track.

Comments are closed.