ITS MK2 Tires

Posted: April 5, 2010 in Bikes, BMX racing, Product review
Tags: , , ,

In DeSoto I was given a set of Intense MK2 tires by Jason at MJT Designs.  I am running 20×1.75 both front and rear.  I normally run a larger tire in the front.  My quick review of the new Intense tire, it works better than the older micro-knobby that I tried a year or so ago.  I didn’t have too hard of a time getting the tires on Envy rims.  I’ve not had any problems with the tire washing out in turns or spinning coming out of the gate.  I’ve so far only used them at DeSoto and LoneStar but I’d think that they’ll be great for all tracks.

Intense tire

Update: I’ve now been running these tires for a few weeks and they are hooking up great.  I’m still on a 1.75 front and rear and having no issues.  Even racing in Conroe they held on to the ground.  I’m thinking I may need to get a little bigger for the front, but that is just to settle the nerves.

Comments
  1. Josh says:

    Keep me updated on the progress on those tires. Are they Liter then the DTH tires?

    • bikemonkeys says:

      For a 20×1.75 the Tioga Powerblocks are 303.33 grams and 328.85 grams for the 20×1.90.
      The Maxxis DTH are at 20×1.75 at 337.35 grams and the 20×1.95 at 365.70 grams.
      The Intense MK2 are 362.87 grams for the 20×1.75 and 447.92 grams for the 20×2.0.

      The weights were all taken from the Dans Comp website and converted to grams if stated in oz.