New Rennen Gear

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Bikes, Gear, Product review

While up in De Soto racing the State Finals at Metroplex BMX Zoie was having a hard time pedaling.  She had a good lead then suddenly stopped pedaling.  Turns out there was an issue with her chain ring.  I didn’t want to mess with it so I took it over to the shop and let them work on it.  They asked what I wanted, I saw they had some Rennen gears and said that will do.

Zoie needed the five bolt version.  Rennen makes some fine gears, it’s all I have now for my bike so I knew they’d work great for my 7-year-old daughter. 

The coolest feature of the Rennen gear we got was that it doesn’t need half of the chain ring bolts.  The nut is removed from the setup as the gear is threaded making installation easier.  I am guessing that removal will be just as easy.

I wish they had this feature for the 4-bolt chain rings as Rennen does make execellent products.  I don’t have really anything else to say about the ring we bought two weeks ago and probably won’t ever.  It’s on a 7-year-old girls bike, what’s the odds that anything should happen to it?

Comments are closed.